Rajya Sabha election outcomes 2020: BJP received extra seats however opposition could have higher hand | India News

Rajya Sabha election results 2020: BJP won more seats but opposition may have upper hand | India News

NEW DELHI: Of the overall 61 vacant Rajya Sabha seats, elections have been held on June 19 for 19 seats unfold over 10 states. Candidates on the remaining 42 seats have been elected unopposed.
Out of the 19 seats on which elections have been held, the BJP received eight whereas the Congress might register victory on 4 seats. While the overall energy of the Upper House has gone as much as 244, the BJP’s tally has risen to 86 and that of the Congress has elevated to 41.
Of the 61 victorious candidates, whereas some have been members of the Lok Sabha sooner or later in time up to now, others are coming into Parliament for the primary time.
Prominent among the many first-timers within the Rajya Sabha embody Congress’s Mallikarjun Kharge, KC Venugopal and Shaktisinh Gohil; BJP’s Jyotiraditya Scindia and Narhari Amin and AIADMK’s M Thambidurai.
At least 9 of those 61 MPs are heavyweights. They embody BJP’s Jyotiraditya Scindia and Narhari Amin, its ally AIADMK’s M Thambidurai and opposition leaders HD Deve Gowda, Mallikarjun Kharge, Digvijaya Singh, Shaktisinh Gohil and KC Venugopal.
Both the BJP heavyweights are new entrants to the occasion from the Congress. Their defence of BJP and assault on Congress in Parliament is but to be examined.
Thambidurai’s stand will even rely on the blow-hot-blow-cold relationship between the AIADMK and the BJP.
As towards them, the opposition assault is more likely to get sharpened by their veterans comparable to HD Deve Gowda, Mallikarjun Kharge and Digvijaya Singh.
Born on May 18, 1933, Deve Gowda was the prime minister from June 1, 1996 to 21 April 1997. He was earlier the chief minister of Karnataka from 1994 to 1996.
Gowda was final a Lok Sabha MP until 2019, representing Hassan in Karnataka. He misplaced the 2019 Lok Sabha election to the BJP’s GS Basavaraj in Tumkur constituency of Karnataka.
He will now characterize his Karnataka state within the Rajya Sabha.
The 77-year-old Congress chief was railways and labour and employment minister. He was Lok Sabha MP from Gulbarga in Karnataka from 2009 to 2019.
In truth, he was chief of the Congress within the Lok Sabha within the earlier time period. In the 2019 normal election, he misplaced to Umesh Jadhav of the BJP in Kalburgi constituency.
The two-term former chief minister of Madhya Pradesh was Lok Sabha MP in 1991 from Rajgarh, his dwelling district. He is taken into account to have groomed Rahul Gandhi in politics.
He has been a Rajya Sabha member since 2014. After Friday’s victory, it is going to be the vetran chief’s second consecutive time period within the Upper House.
The scion of the erstwhile Gwalior princely state, Jyotiraditya Scindia is a four-term former Lok Sabha MP since 2002 until he misplaced the 2019 normal election. He was additionally a Union minister within the Manmohan Singh authorities.
Son of former Union minister late Madhavrao Scindia, he represented Guna in Madhya Pradesh from the Congress occasion. He was thought-about near the Gandhi household.
However, he discovered himself sidelined by the then chief minister Kamal Nath and senior Congress chief Digvijaya Singh. Moreover, the Gandhi household didn’t come to his rescue. Peeved over these, he give up the Congress earlier this 12 months together with a number of of his supporters, together with occasion MLAs.
This led to the downfall of the Kamal Nath authorities and coming again to energy of the BJP led by Shivraj Singh Chouhan.
A senior Congress chief from Gujarat, Gohil is a former minister within the state.
He is the Congress occasion’s in command of Bihar and a nationwide spokesperson.
With his election to the Rajya Sabha, he’s coming into Parliament for the primary time.
A political heavyweight in Gujarat, he was inthe Congress for many a part of his profession. He has crossed over to the BJP after he was denied the meeting ticket in 2012.
A former deputy chief minister of Gujarat, Amin was additionally the president of the state cricket affiliation.
He can also be coming into Parliament for the very first time.
President of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Shibu Soren is a five-term Lok Sabha and a one-term Rajya Sabha MP. He was Jharkhand chief minister and later Union minister in Manmohan Singh cupboard holding the essential coal ministry portfolio.
However, he was compelled to resign in 2006 after he was discovered responsible within the kidnapping and homicide of his former private secretary Shashinath Jha by the Tees Hazari court docket.
However,the Delhi excessive court docket acquitted him a 12 months later.
It could be Soren’s second stint within the Rajya Sabha.
A two-term Lok Sabha MP from Alappuzha in Kerala an a former Union minister within the Manmohan Singh authorities, KC Venugopal is a dyed-in-wool Congressman. He was the chief of the Kerala unit of Indian Youth Congress. He was Congress MLA for 3 phrases and a state minister in Oomen Chandy authorities from 2044 to 2006.
At current, Venugopal is a strong Congress nationwide normal secretary thought-about near Rahul Gandhi.
The 57-year-old chief has been elected to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan.
A five-term former Lok Sabha MP from Tamil Nadu, he received on AIADMK ticket. He was a Union minister from 1998 to 1999 throughout Atal Bihari Vajpayee authorities.
Thamidurai, 73, was additionally the deputy speaker of the Lok Sabha for one full time period from 2014 throughout Narendra Modi’s first stint as prime minister.
This can also be his first stint as a Rajya Sabha MP from Tamil Nadu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *